Wag magmadali sa buhay. Baka matinik ng malalim.

Friday morning, walang pasok, pagdating ko ng bahay after jogging, I turned on the DVD player and the TV, grabbed the remote control and clicked on segment-35 minutes. I resumed watching 127 hours, an American biographical survival drama film starring  James Franco as real-life canyoneer Aron Ralston, who became trapped by a boulder in an isolated slot canyon in Robbers Roost, southeastern Utah,  in April 2003, and was eventually forced to amputate his own right arm in order to free himself. I made myself comfortable, took the pakwan from the fridge and resumed watching the movie from the point where I stopped the other day.

Nung mauso ang Betamax players, pag nagsasalang ako ng tape, una kong tinitignan ay kung ilang minutes ang haba ng papanuorin kong pelikula. Kadalasan, ang aking isip ay di makafocus sa pinapanuod ko at naiisip ko ang trabahong naghihintay kinabukasan, ang mga alalahanin, mga worries… pumasok ba ang anak ko sa school kahit umuulan?.. or me kasama ba ang asawa ko sa clinic niya, baka me makapasok na salbahe… masakit ang aking ulo, baka kung ano na ito a.., mga gastusin, minsan pa nga kung ano ang kakainin ko sa buong isang linggo e naiisip ko rin. Kadalasan kapag nakikita ko kung ilang minutes pa ang natitira, naiinip ako, kaya ipafast forward ko, na parang pelikula ni Charlie Chaplin ang pinapanuod ko hanggang sa matapos ito. Or kung di ko naman matapos, tinatandaan ko ang time left, at kapag naiisip ko na more than 15 minutes pa, parang ang haba haba pa ng papanuorin ko. Watching movie has become a strenuous activity for me. Parang di ko na naienjoy dahil lagi akong nagmamadali. At parang “hayyy salamat, natapos din ang pinapanuod ko…” ang aking nararamdaman sa ending.

Twenty years later, enthralled with a good story, of courage, determination and will to survive & succeed, hindi ko inintindi kung ilang minutes na ako nanunuod. Nakapako ang paningin ko sa TV and I enjoy every minute of the movie. At kung nagpause ako, tinatandaan ko kung nasaang minute ako. The end is no longer a sigh of relief but a feeling of satisfaction.. meron nang “zing” and “fizz” ang pinanuod ko. I savor every moment of the life I am taken to every minute of the movie. Ang galing ni James Franco, ang ganda ng istorya, the movie is well made, very good ang pagkagawa ni Direk Danny Boyle.

It was those same years when I longed for time to fly, so I can reach my destination quickly, so I can have the life I wanted, the success I yearned for, the things that I like to possess. I was not able to savor every minute of the movie I watched. I was not able to savor every minute of my life. All I did was rush rush rush and not focused in what I was watching and doing.

Ngayon, alam ko na ang ending ng aking sariling pelikula, my life’s movie ay matagal nang sinoshooting. I want to savor every minute ng aking sariling pelikula. Every minute is carefully watched, intently listened and loved for the performance that I do…. what every pause taught me.. and what new mystery and excitement will unfold.

Ultimately, it is my Director, Lord God who will show me how to act my part. All I have to do is to listen to Him and act upon His instructions.

Let’s not rush our life’s movie. Enjoy and give the best performance.

 

—-00000—-

 

 “And I really don’t like rushing through life. Takin’ no time to smell the flowers
Years pass like hours. The seasons rush by. There’s a song in the wind. And I feel it again.
They’ll be no time to see the movies.” – (Melanie)

 

Leave a Reply

