Others.. instead of myself

I have this practice of studying people’s habits and behaviour whenever I stay in another place. Even the small things as the nodding and shaking heads, way of greetings, eating or how the people spend spare time.

One of the most admirable way of people in this land that I am really fascinated is how committed they are in their faith in God. They pray five times a day, and at hours when you would not consider praying at all. But they do.

On the road, on the hill, in the sand dunes, anywhere…you’ll see one laying out a small carpet and he kneels and bows down to pray. He will then be joined by others and together they will pray. And they know which direction to pray.

They don’t even know each other, except that they are brothers in prayers… brothers in God.

God made us and provided us with everything we need in this world. What we need to do is to harness these things to produce good results that serve as the best way to thank and praise God. And of course communicate often to Him  through prayers. Praying together brings multiple joy to the Lord, as it brings graces to those praying  mutually, leaving an unexplained sense of communicating with one another.

I find it so blisful praying with some other people, for with them, we realize there are other things than our own wants and requests that need to be heard by God…..      

  • Asking God to cure a severe illness of another person, aside from my common colds
  • Asking God to provide means of sending a child to school, aside from my desire for an iPhone
  • Asking God to give a solution to someone’s big problem, aside from my petty difficulties
  • Asking God to give comfort to those who are feeling disappointed, aside from comfort to my loneliness
  • Asking God to bless others, aside from myself

Or better yet, INSTEAD of myself…. For I know that through these, God’s glory is magnified. And I am given grace.

                (Matthew 25:34-36 “Come and possess the kingdom which has been prepared for you ever since the creation
                of the world. I was hungry and you fed me, thirsty and you gave me a drink, I was a stranger and you  received
                me in your homes, naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you took care of me, in prison and you visited me.”)

—-00000—-

“Sweet hour of prayer! sweet hour of prayer! The joys I feel, the bliss I share, Of those whose anxious spirits burn. With strong desires for thy return!” – William Walford

Leave a Reply

