DON’T JUST PRAY. ACT!

I went to Riyadh last week for some meetings and clear outs sa issues sa ilan naming customers. Pero bago iyon, pumunta muna ako sa isang Oil Drill Site sa Khurais to verify some information, specifications at mga sukat sukat sa dinidesign naming Pump Change Unit sa paglilinis ng drill pipes and casing.

Dumating ako sa Riyadh ng gabi na and booked a room sa Hotel sa me Batha, ang Divisoria ng Riyadh. I was expecting na ang ilang friends kong Engineers sa Riyadh Refinery will join me for dinner, kaya lang nagfield daw sila at pagod na pagod. Mag-isa akong pumasok sa isang Pinoy Restaurant at nabungaran ko kaagad ang weakness ko… gintaang langka.

Tuwing weekends lang ako nagkakanin at mga ilang kutsara lang, pero dahil sa langka at bangus ay muntik ko na maubos ang isang serving ng kanin (mind you ang pantakal ay mangkok).  I strolled in the area, bought some anik anik, nag tea and called it a night. Kinabukasan, parang bloated pakiramdam ko. I checked out at 7:30 AM, kasi dere-deretso mga meetings ko from 9 AM to 4 PM. Pagdaan ko sa isang Pinoy Restaurant, nakita ko ang almusal ay pinoy na pinoy. I decided to take Tocilog. Full again ako.

Before my first meeting, sumasakit na ang tiyan ko. At naiihi ako. Ganun din sa mga sumunod na meetings.  Ang sama na ng pakiramdam ko. Ang sakit ng tyan, matigas, humihilab at ihi ng ihi. I was contemplating on staying at magpabukas na, but I thought paano kung me mangyari sa akin? I was 435 kms from Khobar.

I decided na mag-inut inot pag-uwi. Habang daan, di ko alam kung ano ang gagawin. I have to drive home, I have to do it. I stopped at a gas station – 325 kms to go pa, filled up, peed, called my son na antabayanan ako and prayed. I told God, “napakasakit God, parang di ko kaya, please grant me clear vision inspite of the pain, a steady hand on the wheel, inspite of the spasm, and a cool mind to decide on the road inspite of the frequent pee.”

I arrived home still in pain, nakatulog agad ako. The pain remained, so I went to the Hospital for check up and treatment.

I was subjected to KUB, Abdominal XRay and Ultrasound (2x).

Clear.

The doctor gave me a double dose of Dolculax. The following morning I’m fine. I was able to job and played 3 games of good -all -win basketball in the afternoon.

Lessons:

  1. Moderate ang anumang masasarap sa buhay.
  2. God gives us challenges we need to surpass. Lets face them squarely.
  3. We should not just rely on praying to God. We must act.

God never allows pain without a purpose in the lives of His children. He never wastes pain. He always causes it to work together for our ultimate good, the good of conforming us more to the likeness of His Son.

—000—
“Don’t give up. It’s just the weight of the world. When your heart’s heavy. I…I will lift it for you
Don’t give up. Because you want to be heard. If silence keeps you. I…I will break it for you.” – Josh Groban

Leave a Reply

